Institute Committee Representatives

Why Become a Representative?

Serving on an Institute (Presidential or Faculty) Committee as a graduate student enables you to significantly impact important decisions made by the Institute. You will serve as a voting member of a committee which advises faculty and administration, and ultimately reports to President Reif. During the Spring/Summer, these positions are relatively open, which makes this the best time to apply for the committee of your choice.

Lists and condensed descriptions of committees are here.

In an effort to help the MIT administration increase transparency, starting in 2008 the GSC compiles minutes and meeting summaries from selected Presidential and Faculty Committees and the Task Force on Student Engagement.

To Become a Representative

Nominations usually open at the end of the Spring term, but are accepted for open positions year-round. The general procedure involves:

  • Complete the online Application for Nomination to Presidential and Faculty Committees.
  • The GSC Nominations Board will review your application and may interview you before making a decision.
  • Your nomination from the GSC will need to be confirmed by the Faculty chairs of the committees.
  • Contact the GSC Vice President (gsc-vp[at]mit[dot]edu) if you have questions.

Representative Responsibilities

Presidential/Faculty Committee Representatives are not voting members of the Graduate Student Council (unless they currently serve as members of GSC Excomm or GSC Representatives), but they should attend the General Council Meetings (first Wednesday of every month, 5:30pm) both to learn about issues the graduate student body faces and to disseminate information. More formal reporting should be done to the GSC Standing Committee to which the Presidential/Faculty Committee pertains – this reporting information is available on the Nominations Board page. Lastly, all Presidential/Faculty Committee Representatives will be expected to submit an end-of-year report summarizing the actions and issues of their committee during their tenure.

2013-2014 Representatives

Committees with positions open or “TBD” status are accepting applications for the 2012-2013 school year.

Presidential Committees
Assessment of Biohazards, Committee on OPEN
Corporation Joint Advisory Committee (minutes) Caleb Waugh
Addison Stark
Andreea Bodnari
Commencement Committee Caleb Waugh (ex-officio)
Alex Guo (ex-officio)
Community Service Fund Board Kaja Kaastrup
Dafu Zhang
DAPER Advisory Board (minutes) Andrea Dubin
Amelia Servi
Family and Work, Council on Ryan Westrom
Hobby Shop, Committee on the Veronika Stelmakh
Intellectual Property, Committee on Tanmoy Sen
Medical Consumers Advisory Council Brandon Russell
Ling Xu
Committee on Foreign Scholorships Tristan Giesa
Presidential Advisory Committee Caleb Waugh (ex-officio)
Aalap Dighe
Jason Gonzales
Maria Berezina
Race and Diversity, Committee on Derek Ham
Bomy Lee Chung
Radiation Protection, Committee on Chad Schools
ROTC Oversight Committee Eric Victor
Student Information Policy, Committee on Kaja Kaastrup
Toxic Chemicals, Committee on Eric Victor
Transportation and Parking, Committee on Alex Jacquillat
Use of Humans as Experimental Subjects, Committee on the Sisi Ni
Women’s Advisory Group Maria Berezina
Yolanda Li
Faculty Committees
Committee on Discipline Sebastian Schmidt
Angela Kilby
Faculty Policy Committee Ellan Spero
Committee on Graduate Programs (minutes) Daniel Day
Committee on the Library System Mark Molaro
Kaja Kaastrup
Committee on Student Life (minutes) Lindsey Brownell
Emir Magden
Committee on Undergraduate Admissions and Financial Aid Fatima Hussain