2018-2019 Executive Officers

Peter Su, President

Peter Su, President


gsc-president [at] mit [dot] edu

Peter is currently a third year PhD candidate in Materials Science and Engineering and the President-elect of the GSC. His research focuses on photonic materials and devices, for chemical sensors and other applications. He’s been involved in the GSC’s external advocacy efforts for all three years that he’s been at MIT, and that has fueled his interest in pursuing a science policy career after graduation. He strongly believes in the basic goodness of people and that most conflicts have win-win solutions.

Orpheus Chatzivasileiou, Vice-President

Orpheus Chatzivasileiou, Vice-President


gsc-vp [at] mit [dot] edu

Alkiviadis Orfefs Chatzivasileiou, known to most people as Orpheus, is a Doctoral Candidate in the Department of Chemical Engineering. His research involves engineering bacteria for the overproduction of value-added chemicals. He received his Diploma in Chemical Engineering from the National Technical University of Athens in 2013. He previously served as a member of the Ashdown House Executive Committee for two years, the GSC Secretary for two years, and has also held the position of GSC Representative for the Dept. of Chemical Engineering.

business photo 2






Richard Zhang, Secretary



gsc-secretary [at] mit [dot] edu

Richard Zhang, is a Doctoral Candidate in the Department of Mathematics and is the Secretary of the Graduate Student Council.

Event & Meeting

All events...

Recent News