Welcome to Graduate Women at MIT

GWAMIT is a student-led organization dedicated to supporting all women and women-identified persons within the MIT graduate community. We work to enhance the professional development, individual growth, and empowerment of all graduate women at MIT, while strengthening connections between existing groups.

In addition to our annual conferences, we host a mentoring program and a series of smaller workshops and focus groups throughout the year. Click through our pages to learn more about our organization and how to get involved.

Recent News

This error message is only visible to WordPress admins
This endpoint has been retired

Error: No posts found.

Make sure this account has posts available on instagram.com.

Click here to troubleshoot


Jennifer Hu

Jennifer Hu is a second year Ph.D. student in Brain and Cognitive Sciences. She received her B.A. in Mathematics and Linguistics from Harvard University in 2018. Her research develops computational models of how humans resolve ambiguity in language understanding, with the goal of building better systems of artificial intelligence. As a GWAMIT Co-Chair, she interfaces with other organizations and works to build a more inclusive, empowering community for all woman-identifying graduate students. Previously, she was an active member of Gender Inclusivity In Mathematics at Harvard.

Stephanie Kong

Stephanie Kong is a fourth year Ph.D. student in Chemical Engineering. Her research in Paula Hammond’s lab focuses on developing biomaterials for drug delivery applications in cancer nanomedicine. Within GW@MIT she coordinates annual events, and serves as liaison for other student groups and administrative offices. She is especially interested in collaborative projects that address intersectionality issues at the interface of race and gender and fosters inclusivity of diverse groups. She also serves on the board for Graduate Women in ChemE (GWIChE). 

Saeyoung Rho
Publicity Chair

Saeyoung Rho is a Master’s student in the Technology and Policy Program and the Computer Science Department. Her research focuses on developing statistical tools to facilitate causal inference problems. Students don’t have a lot of time and resources, but she still wanted to do something for women empowerment. This year, she is serving as a publicity chair at GWAMIT, managing this website and other social media accounts of the organization.

Sophia Wu
Conference Chair

Sophia Wu is a Master’s student in the Technology and Policy Program. Her research is focused on drinking water quality and the health effects of intermittent water supply. She received her Bachelor’s degree from MIT in mechanical engineering. She previously worked in the defense and aerospace industry as a technical consultant. As the GW@MIT Conference Chair, she organizes the flagship events of Orientation Women’s Welcome Lunch, Empowerment and Leadership Conferences.

Wei Wei
Events Co-chair

Wei Wei is a doctoral candidate in the Interdepartmental Program in Transportation Engineering at MIT. Her research interests are in the effects of commuting behaviors and vehicle technologies on energy consumption and emissions. She is the event co-chair of GWAMIT and organizes regular social and career development events.

MayLin Howard

MayLin Howard is a PhD candidate in the Chemical Engineering department. She earned her B.S. in Chemical Engineering at the University of Rochester in 2016 with a minor in Biology. Her current research involves developing drug delivery coatings for synthetic bone implants to improve patient outcomes. Her role in GW@MIT involves writing biweekly newsletters and managing event calendars.

Rachel Soble
Advocacy Co-chair

Rachel Soble is a 4th year PhD student in the Microbiology Graduate Program at MIT. She received a B.S. in Biochemistry and a B.S. in Computer Science from the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities in 2016. Her current research in microbial ecology involves unraveling the mechanisms by which microbial communities assemble and develop in the ocean. As GWAMIT’s Advocacy Co-Chair focusing on diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives, she aims to advocate for the rights of underrepresented groups at MIT and enact policies for building a respectful and welcoming environment here. In her free time, she loves painting, reading, and biking.

Vrindaa Somjit
Events Co-chair

Vrindaa Somjit is a fourth year Ph.D. student in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering. Her research focuses on using computational techniques to tune defects in oxides and at oxide-metal interfaces for renewable energy applications and neuromorphic computing. As the Events Co-chair of GW@MIT, she organizes monthly events to foster discussions on topics important for the professional and personal development of graduate women (through panels, fireside chats...), as well as fun events (such as museum outings and coffee hours) to help remind women that they are a part of a large, beautiful, productive community !

Molly Bird
Membership chair

Molly Bird is a fifth year Ph.D. student in the Biological Engineering Department. Her research focuses on exploring the roles of different RNA-binding proteins in sensitizing tumor cells to chemotherapy. This year, I am thrilled to be GWAMIT’s Membership Chair, working to engage our department reps and members. Reach out to me if you’re interested in becoming a department rep! I look forward to continuing working with GWAMIT to promote empowerment and address women’s issues across campus and in the broader community.

Garima Sharma
Advocacy co-chair

Garima Sharma is a 3rd year PhD student in the Department of Economics at MIT. She received a BA in Economics from Stanford University in 2015. Her research focuses on understanding women’s bargaining position in the labor market; she also studies agricultural supply chains and how best to shorten them to deliver benefits to farmers. As GWAMIT’s Advocacy Co-Chair she aims to liaise with the Title IX office and university committee on sexual harassment to make MIT safer and more inclusive. More generally she hopes to foster a happy community for graduate women at MIT.

Annie Hudson

Annie is a dual-degree masters student in MIT’s Urban Studies & Planning and Science in Transportation departments. Her research focuses on city planning for autonomous vehicles. Prior to her time at MIT, she worked as an energy policy analyst and researcher at the Center for Strategic and International Studies in Washington DC and as a communications guru for Scoville PR in Seattle. As the treasurer of GWAMIT, she ensures that the organization runs smoothly and can keep on doing the work that it does throughout the year. 

Taylor Baum
Outreach Chair

Taylor is a first year PhD student in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science department at MIT. She received a B.S. in Electrical Engineering and a B.S. in Neuroscience at the Pennsylvania State University in 2019. She is currently advised by Dr. Emery Brown and Dr. Munther Dahleh. In her current work, she is developing brain state estimation algorithms for use in Closed-Loop Anesthetic Delivery (CLAD) systems and exploring mechanisms of control with the human brain through computational models. As the Outreach Chair for GWAMIT, Taylor hopes to build strong relationships between the Boston community - with an emphasis on young women in the area - and women of MIT.​